Planning Commission

The Pittsylvania County Planning Commission works in concert with the Zoning department to make recommendations on requests for special use permits, rezonings, and variance. Depending on the type of application, those requests, with a recommendation from the Planning Commission, then go before either the Board of Zoning Appeals or the Board of Supervisors

In all of its recommendations, the Pittsylvania County Planning Commission must follow the zoning ordinance, the comprehensive plan, and all other relevant laws and regulations. 

The Pittsylvania County Planning Commission is composed of 7 members representing each District appointed by the Board of Supervisors and a representative from the Board. They serve staggered 4-year terms. 

Agendas & Minutes

Listen to Planning Commission Meetings on YouTube


H. F. Haymore, Jr., Chairman

March 23, 2024
Westover District
2361 Afton Road
Danville, VA 24540
Home: 434-836-6318
Email H. F. Haymore, Jr.

Nathan Harker, Vice-Chairman

November 1, 2025
Staunton River District
256 Peninsula Place
Hurt, Virginia 24563
Cell: 434-546-6403
Email Nathan Harker

Gary Oakes

December 5, 2025
Tunstall District
608 Pinetum Road
Chatham, Virginia 24531

Janet Mease

July 31, 2024
Callands-Gretna District
11495 West Gretna Road
Sandy Level, Virginia 24161
Home: 927-5245
Cell: 540-525-6344
Email Janet Mease

Colette Henderson

November 30, 2023
Banister District
848 East Gretna Road
Gretna, Virginia 24557
Cellular: 434-710-3176
Email Colette Henderson

Brian K. Horne

December 31, 2021
Dan River District
356 Barker Road
Ringgold, VA 24586
Home: 822-6991
Email Brian K. Horne

Richard Waters

December 1, 2024
Chatham-Blairs District
1541 David Giles Lane
Blairs,Virginia 24527
Cell: 434-203-8176
Email Richard Waters

Darrell Dalton

January 1, 2023
Board of Supervisors Rep.

Email Darrell Dalton